COAT was established at a meeting of Commonwealth, State, Territory and New Zealand heads on 6 June 2002. The following are the current appointed office-bearers and committee members of the COAT Executive:

  • Chair: Ms Anne Britton, Principal Member, NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal
  • Deputy Chair: Mr Grant Pearson, Chair, Social Security Appeals Authority  (NZ)
  • Secretary: Mr Malcolm Schyvens, Deputy President and Division Head for the Guardianship Division, NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal
  • Treasurer: The Hon. Justice David Thomas, President, Administrative Appeals Tribunal
  • Public Officer: Kathryn McKenzie,  COAT Secretariat

Members of Executive:

Mr James Crichton
Chief, Employment Relations Authority, New Zealand

The Hon Justice Martin Daubney AM
President, Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal (QCAT)

The Hon Justice Judy Hughes
President, South Australian Civil & Administrative Tribunal (SACAT)

Mr Graeme Neate AM
President, ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal (ACAT)

Mr Mark O’Reilly
Alice Springs Member, Northern Territory Civil and Administrative Tribunal

Magistrate Robert Webster
 Chief Commissioner &  Chairperson,Workers Rehabilitation & Compensation Tribunal, Asbestos Compensation Tribunal, Health Practitioners Tribunal, Motor Accidents Compensation Tribunal, Anti-Discrimination Tribunal (TAS)

Ms Genevieve Nihill
Deputy President, Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT)

Mr Garry Rutherford
Arbitrator, Workcover WA